top of page

High School Musical Sucks

I found a rather odd parallel between Gay’s revelation that the “Sweet Valley High” series are pretty terrible, and my personal revelation that “High School Musical” is actually really bad. Gay expressed that when she was younger, the “Sweet Valley High” series was an escape to her. She loved the series so much as to buy every single copy made and keep it in numerical order. When she grew up to become a successful writer, she even took the time to read and re-read the newly published book of the series even though she had already determined that they were actually awfully written. I can relate to this sad discovery in relation the “High School Musical” movies. I would watch those movies on repeat while singing every song word-for-word and even reciting a good portion of the movie dialogue as well. I also made sure to rep their merch as much as possible just to let everyone know that I was a fan. Just recently before high school graduation my friends and I decided to watch “High School Musical: Senior year,” because it was only fitting. Once the movie began to play, I was hit with a wave of nostalgia, but as it kept playing, I realized just how inaccurate it was. Their “senior year” was not indicative at all to what’s it’s like to be a senior, and the singing just made it all much worse. Although it does sadden me that High School Musical really isn’t all that my ten-year-old self cracked it up to be, I still get waves of nostalgia when I watch it and I will definitely still be singing along if I hear any of the songs come on.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page