top of page

Understanding Genres

This chapter really helped me fully understand what a genre is. At the beginning of this class I don’t think that I could give a solid answer if I was asked to give a definition of the word, but now I think that I have a firmer grasp of the concept. The book gives several checklists to help identify genres and I think that these checklists are something that I will be utilizing when writing future projects. My favorite checklist that they presented was the one on page 8 that helps you compose with a purpose. Figuring out your audience, how you are going to address your topic, and realizing the importance of the material you are going to present are all great ways to start the writing process and begin to understand the genre of the piece that is being composed.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page